twistedchic

June 15, 2013

DIY Friday: Jacket to Vest

Filed under: Clothing,DIY,Fashion — by twistedchic @ 3:41 pm
Tags: , , ,

DIY Friday is now brought to you by Saturday.  And the letter G~

I’ve been wanting to try the cargo vest trend ever since I saw what Putting Me Together did with hers.  But I hadn’t really seen any I liked.  Until I found this Aeropostyle jacket at the local thrift store.  The fit was problematic; the sleeves made the jacket pull at the chest, but I thought it would be perfect with them removed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The jacket was lined (which usually makes alterations more difficult than they’re worth) but fortunately the lining stopped at the sleeves.  And I really loved the contrast of the feminine floral lining and the tough grey cargo vest~

Inside-out shoulder view

Inside-out shoulder view

All I had to do was (carefully) snip the sleeves off; no sewing required with this DIY!  The key to this alteration is using the right scissors, I use a pair of tiny, tiny folding scissors I inherited from my grandma.

These tiny sharp scissors give you the perfect amount of control for delicate cuts

These tiny sharp scissors give you the perfect amount of control for delicate cuts

I washed the newly snipped vest, and trimmed any ravelling edges.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Super-easy cargo vest DIY!  And this alteration completely solved the fit at the chest problem, so double yay~

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

