twistedchic

September 2, 2012

DIY Monday:Polka Dot Fever!

Filed under: Clothing,DIY,Food,Inspiration,Style — by twistedchic @ 11:50 pm
Tags: , , , ,

We’ve all had it happen.  You buy a cute top, skirt, whatever.  Then you get it home, and realize it was not quite the color you thought it was.  The pretty tank top with delicate purple polka dots starts to look a little more…fuschia.  In fact, it’s very clear that your new Gap tank has a bad case of the measles!~  Or that’s what it looked like to me.

This is a problem.  Contagion chic is not the look for me!

I can fix this, thought I.  Fabric paint, to the rescue!  I took my tank and stretched it out on piece of cardboard.  This gives it stability so the paint doesn’t rub off on another section while it dries.

I then used Navy fabric paint and a small brush to alter the color of about 1/3rd of the dots.  All of them would have been over-doing it, but this way, it looks fun and intentional.  And kinda like Dippin’ Dots!

Dippin’ Dots are a fashion statement I can get behind!

I love this new look so much, I may get another color and paint in more!

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

