twistedchic

July 2, 2012

DIY Monday: Star Print Shirt

Filed under: DIY — by twistedchic @ 4:18 pm
Tags:

DIY Monday is now brought to you by the letter e.  And the number 45.

I’ve really been wanting to experiment with fabric paint.  And you all know how much I love star prints (hint, it’s a lot~)  So why not try these two out together?

I started with a Loft shirt I bought from the goodwill (that way if I mess it up, I’m not out too much money).  Then, using a cardboard box, I cut out star shapes in three sizes and made tiny star stamps.

The biggest one was about an inch.

Then I squirted a little metallic silver paint on them and went to town!  The key to this is to pin the fabric of the shirt to a cardboard backing so the fabric won’t slip around, and the paint won’t smear.

Be sure that each star is dry before you remove the cardboard backing.  Also, don’t put too much paint on the star stamps or it will smudge!  Let the fabric paint dry for 2 days before washing.

Voila!

It’s my Captain America shirt! Now with extra patriotism!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

