twistedchic

March 30, 2011

Wardrobe Workhorse

Filed under: Uncategorized — by twistedchic @ 6:15 am
Tags:

My jacket looks nothing like this. But apparently google thinks it's "the perfect jacket"

What’s the oldest thing in your closet? And I don’t mean that pair of too tight jeans at the back you used to wear 10 lbs ago. I’m talking about a piece you’ve had for years, but still wear all the time. It’s a well-made classic piece, like your go-to black pumps, perfect khaki pants or lbd.

Mine is a navy liz claiborne jacket with a cool mandarin style collar. It’s the perfect jacket: comfortable, soft and with a few unusual details that give it a little bit of twist. I’ve had it for about a decade, so it’s perfectly broken in. I don’t remember how much I paid for it, but it was worth whatever I spent. I’d calculate that I spent less than a penny per wearing at this point. All of which is a long way of saying that it’s worth investing a little bit of money in something you will still be wearing ten years from now.

What will I still have in my closet 10 years from now? I’ll bet that jacket will still be with me.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

